Central Time Zone

The Central Time Zone is used in sections of Canada, the United States, Central America, Mexico and some of the known islands in the Caribbean region as well as a portion of the Eastern Pacific Ocean. The Central Time Zone is recognized as occurring six hours behind the Coordinated Universal Time also known as Greenwich Mean Time or GMT resulting in UTC-06:00. Throughout daylight saving time or DST Central Time Zone becomes Central Standard Time CDT or Chicago Standard Time and is adjusted to five hours behind the Coordinated Universal Time or UTC-05:00.

Central Daylight Time

Between mid-march and early November daylight saving time or DST is recognized in much of the Central Time zone. The Canadian province of Saskatchewan however does not adopt a change in their standard time due to its geographical location of closer to the Mountain Time Zone meridian. Saskatchewan by legislative vote decided to adopt a permanent daylight saving time by being a part of the Central Time Zone with the exception of the neighboring territory side of the bi provincial city of Lloydminister which has decided to use Mountain Time and daylight saving time and synchronizing its clocks with the neighboring province of Alberta.

Canadian and American territories which observe daylight saving time, since 2007 advancing their clocks forward one hour at 02:00 local standard time to 03:00 local daylight saving on the second Sunday in the month of March and adjusting their clocks backwards by one hour at 02:00 local daylight time to 01:00 local standard time on the first Sunday in the Month of November. Mexico however decided not to realize this change in daylight savings enacted by the Energy Policy Act of 2005. Instead observes what is known as the horario de verano (daylight savings in Mexico) on the first Sunday in the month of April through to the last Sunday in the month of October.

Central Time Zone in Canada

The Canadian province Manitoba is currently the only Canadian region which adheres to the Central Time Zone within all its regions. Other provinces and territories known for observing Central Time Zone in some sections as well as Eastern Time include, Nunavut’s western regions consisting of most of the region known as Kivalliq as well as a part of Qikiqtaaluk and the northwestern part of Ontario known for bordering the province of Manitoba in the northeast.

Year round, a large part of the province Saskatchewan adheres to Central Time without observing daylight saving time. Other known exceptions within the Canadian region include the city of Lloydminister located on the border in-between the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan. Lloydminister observes a city charter Law which provides the adopting of Mountain Time and daylight saving time, placing the city within the same time zone as the province of Alberta as well as the leading cities of Calgary and Edmonton.

Central Time in the United States

Although many of the states within the United States are equivocal on time zone boundaries next to the Eastern Time Zone Central Time is accepted as the second most widely recognized time zone.


In spite of the fact that the state of Alabama is formally on Central Time, Phenix City located in Lee and Russel counties and the neighboring communities of Lanett, Smith Station and Valley are known for unofficially adopting Eastern Time, due to their location as a part of the media market and metropolitan region of the significantly larger city of Columbus, Georgia which lies in the Eastern Time Zone.


The entire state of Arkansas falls under Central Time Zone UTC-06:00 for most of the year and observed daylight saving time during the summer months becoming Central Daylight Time UTC-05:00.


The area known as the Florida Panhandle situated west of the Apalachicola River, bordering the state of Alabama observes the Central Time Zone. The remaining Florida region however is known for adopting the Eastern Time Zone.


Indiana’s northwestern and southwestern corners, bordering the state of Illinois uses a Central Time.


The state of Kansas with the exception of the westernmost counties of Greeley, Hamilton Sherman and Wallace observes a Central Time Zone.


The western half of the state of Kentucky and all territories west of the city of Louisville observe Central Time. Some counties however due to their positioning close to the northern border of the Middle Tennessee counties neighboring the nashville metropolitan area are also known to observe a Central Time.


The entire state of Michigan observes a Central Time Zone with the exception of the Upper Peninsula counties bordering the state of Wisconsin known as Dickinson, Gogebic, Iron and Menominee. Ordinarily, the outer westernmost counties located within this region are known to unofficially adopt an Eastern Time.

North Dakota

With the exception of the southwestern region of North Dakota bordering Montana and South Dakota and south of the Missouri River, the entire state of NorthDakota observes a Central Time.


Although the community of Kenton and the utmost western end of the state’s Panhandle are known to unofficially observe Mountain Time, the remaining counties of the Oklahoma all recognize a Central Time.


Two-thirds of western Tennessee, the entire middle Tennessee in addition to East Tennessee counties including Bledsoe, Cumberland, and Marion all recognize Central Time.


Almost the entire state of Texas recognizes Central Time, with the exception of El Paso and Hudspeth counties.

Other states within the United States which fall under the Central Time Zone include Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, eastern two-thirds of Nebraska, the southern half of South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Central Time Zone in Mexico

Nearly all of Mexico, including most of the entire eastern region adopts a Central Time, with the exception of the northwestern states of Baja California, Baja California Sur, Nayarit, Sinaloa,Sonora and Chihuahua.


Central Time Zone in Central America and the Caribbean Islands

Central Standard Time within Central America and the Caribbean is observed year round in the the countries of Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, honduras, and Nicaragua.